Do I need a visa for Sri Lanka?

Do I need a visa for Sri Lanka?

Only nationals of three countries – Seychelles, Singapore and the Maldives  do not need a visa to Sri Lanka. All other nationals must get a visa before visiting Sri Lanka or obtain one at the port of entry.

The Government of Sri Lanka made the Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) visa a mandatory part of the immigration since 2012.

There are 4 types of Sri Lanka ETA visa currently available:

  • ETA tourist visa with double entry for 30 days;
  • ETA business visa with multiple entry for 30 days;
  • ETA transit visa with single entry for up to seven days.
  • ETA transit visa with single entry for up to two days.

Here are the requirements needed for a Sri Lankan visa: 

  • your passport should be valid for at least 6 months after departure, with a minimum of two blank pages;
  • scanned copy of the first and last page of your passport;
  • confirmed return air tickets;
  • hotel confirmation details.

Once an ETA visa to Sri Lanka has been obtained, visa holders must be able to demonstrate the following requirements at point of entry into Sri Lanka: 

  • a passport valid for a minimum period of six months;
  • a round trip ticket to show at the port of entry in Sri Lanka (only if you are travelling by air); 
  • evidence of sufficient funds to cover your expenses during your stay in Sri Lanka.

The simplest and quickest way to apply for a Sri Lanka ETA Visa is to make an online application with the Sri Lanka ETA visa application form.

Processing typically takes two business days, after which point you will be notified whether your application was accepted or rejected. Accepted applicants are entitled to enter Sri Lanka within three months of the date of issue.

I’s important to note that Sri Lanka's Tourism Minister announced the government will waive the existing visa fee from August 1st 2019 for arrivals from 48 countries as it continues to revive its punctured tourism industry. According to the Minister, the free visa applies to both tourists and those visiting for business purposes and will be effective for six months. Keep in mind, this initiative was suggested as a temporary solution and might not be applicable after January 31st 2020.

The initiative applies to the citizens of the following countries: USA, Canada, the UK, European Union nations, Australia, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, Malaysia, South Korea, Cambodia, Thailand, China, India and Indonesia.

Add your comment